Lacepede Bay Sailing Club annual awards | PHOTOS

Kingston junior sailors were all recognised with an encouragement award at the annual presentation dinner of the Lacepede Bay Sailing Club when the club celebrated its 2018/19 season.

Over 30 children have participated in Saturday morning sailing this season. Coached by Josh Hancock, junior sailors have developed their sailing and water safety skills, and have created new friendships out on the water.

Winner of the Junior Sailor Encouragement Award, Georgina England, said all the juniors were really looking forward to sailing next season, and thanked everyone who supported them throughout the year by getting boats ready, giving instructions on the water, driving the rescue ducky, and packing up.

Josh thanked the Kingston Lions Club who had donated funds towards the purchase of a third club Bic (a small monohull suitable for learner sailors).

He said it was great to see the local community supporting the sport of junior sailing.

Saturday afternoon sailing saw over 10 boats out of the water throughout the season, with strong competition between the Taipan 5.7s and the Nacra.

The club handicap championship was won by 'Rikki Tikki Tavi' skippered by Wayne Hancock, Barry Medwell and Jason Backler.

The Backler series winners were 'Rikki Tikki Tavi' skippered by Wayne Hancock, Barry Medwell and Jason Backler: Humbugz series winners were 'Deadly Pursuit' skippered by Josh Hancock, Lachie Stewart and Ryan Bawden: the Commodore's series was won by 'Screamin' skippered by Stewart Ferguson: the Vice Commodore's series was won by 'Where's Wally' skippered by Jonathan England and Georgina England: the Curkpatrick Memorial series was won by 'Screamin' skippered by Stewart Ferguson.

The Wonjina Trophy for contribution by a non-sailor was won by handicapper and timekeeper Karen Parker, and the Dowdy Trophy for best club sailor was won by Wayne Hancock.

The most coveted of all trophies, the Lighthouse Bolt, was won by David Curkpatrick.