KNTFL Virgo/Mail Medal 2019 | PREVIEW/POLL

The count for the 2019 KNTFL Virgo/Mail Medal will be held at the Naracoorte Town Hall on Sunday, August 18.

As always there will be a wide field of possible winners from all 11 KNTFL clubs, and a wide variety of opinions on who will win the league's top individual honour.

A previous winner in Simon Berkefeld from Penola could be the warm favourite. Berkefeld won the medal in 2017, nearly won it last year and has been ultra-consistent again this year despite missing a couple of games with injury.

His teammate Scott Merrett must also be a chance as he has been named in the best players in all 13 Penola games he's played. Rangy forward Brad Merrett will also poll votes.

Mundulla on-baller Jake McGrice has been one of the most consistent vote-getters in recent years and would have to be a chance to win his first medal. Fellow on-baller Nick Gregurke might be up there, too.

Lucindale has two or three midfield stars in Scott Spriggs, Ryan McInerney and Tom Logan who should all poll well.

K/L United has a spread of potentials but coach Nick Murphy is a proven vote-winner, while Alex Brown has had a good year and Cam Hitchcock and Cam De Visser both play eye-catching football.

Naracoorte's chances are dominated by midfielders, with Josh Gregg maybe their best chance in his first year with the Demons. Brad Mitchell was excellent before injuring his knee recently, while Keenan Jacobs has been consistent.

Border Districts have a lot of players new to the league who might not be readily recognised by the umpires, but Mark Quinn has made an impact in the midfield. Fraser Adams is the stand-out local and might poll some votes.

Padthaway picked up a number of eye-catching new players including coach Tarak Redigolo and Jack Scott, while their best defender Ray Jaensch has had a good year.

Keith is unlikely to provide a medal winner and runner-up like last year, but recruit Matt McDonough has been consistent and might poll well.

Kingston picked up a raft of new recruits who can play, but locals Tyler Baker and Ben Warner might again lead their voting.

Bordertown is unlikely to have any leading chances but captain Josh Searle and ruckman Rory Tink should lead the way.

Kybybolite had a very slow start to the year but on-baller Jack McKay and state rep Matt Tonkin might poll some votes in the second half of the year.

If you can't make it to the medal count on Sunday, do the next best thing and follow the live updates from the event on this website, announcing all the trophy winners as they are presented.

There will also be live voting updates during the Mail/Virgo Medal count.

This story KNTFL Virgo/Mail Medal 2019 | PREVIEW/POLL first appeared on Naracoorte Herald.