KNTFL football 2020 coaching appointments locked in

Seven of the 11 KNTFL clubs have appointed A grade coaches for the 2020 season.

The four clubs without coaches at this point include the 2019 grand finalists Mundulla and Lucindale, with Kingston and KLU the other clubs yet to lock anyone in.

BORDER DISTRICTS had a much-improved season under non-playing coach Darrin Wilson in his third year in charge. Borders only just missed the A grade finals and contested the reserves grand final for the first time since 1995.

Wilson has been reappointed for a fourth year.

BORDERTOWN has appointed returning player Kane Cuthbertson as its playing coach for 2020. Cuthbertson played most of his career with Bordertown, including the 2012 A grade premiership, before spending the past three seasons playing with Robe.

A key defender who also played key forward for Robe, Cuthbertson was part of the Roosters' premiership in 2018. Cuthbertson replaces the playing coach of the past two seasons Cam Sandercock, whose playing plans for next year haven't been announced.

KANIVA/LEEOR UNITED has not yet confirmed its coaches for 2020. Key forward Nick Murphy has successfully led the Cougars for the past four seasons as playing coach, guiding them to the finals in every year without making a grand final.

A former South Adelaide player, Murphy has also coached the KNTFL interleague side for the past two seasons.

KEITH has reappointed playing coach George Thring for a third year in 2020. Thring led the Crows to a grand final in 2018 (he also jointly won the Virgo Medal) before they missed the finals in 2019 after losing many key players, with Thring battling injury himself.

KINGSTON has not yet finalised its coaching appointments for next season.Brad Richardson has been non-playing coach for the past four seasons, with the Saints showing good improvement at times but unable to crack a finals berth in that period.

KYBYBOLITE has gone back to one of its previous coaches, Scott Carberry. Carberry, who retired from A grade in 2018, is one of the Tigers' all-time leading goalkickers and previously was playing coach in 2010-2013, taking the Tigers to the grand final in 2018.

He replaces playing coach of the past two seasons Tom Cooper, who will stay with the club as a player. The club has reportedly lost gun travelling players Matt Tonkin and David Warren to Langhorne Creek.

LUCINDALE is looking for a new coach, with playing coach of the past two seasons Ryan McInerney moving on. McInerney has signed to coach North Haven in Adelaide after a highly successful stint as player and coach with the Roos, winning a league medal, multiple best and fairests and coaching them into the grand final in 2019.

The Roos are yet to appoint a replacement.

MUNDULLA celebrated back-to-back A grade premierships in 2019. Non-playing coach Nick Davis led the team in 2019 after taking over from Tim Williams who was premiership coach in 2018.

The club has not yet made an A grade appointment for 2020 and is currently advertising all coaching positions.

NARACOORTE has reappointed non-playing coach Zack Donnelly after he led the Demons to the finals in his first year. The Demons finished sixth with six wins in 2018 but improved to 10 wins and an elimination final spot in 2019, with Donnelly named the KNTFL's coach of the year.

PADTHAWAY has reappointed playing coach Tarak Redigolo for a second season. Redigolo had an outstanding season personally in 2019, winning the Lions' best and fairest, while leading the A grade side to seventh on the ladder.

PENOLA has appointed former A grade premiership coach and player Tony Porter as its new non-playing leader. A long-time A grade player, Porter coached the Eagles to the 2013 premiership.

He replaces non-playing coach Matt Tilby, who led the Eagles A grade to fourth place (2018) and fourth (2019) in his two years after coaching a reserves premiership in 2016.

This story KNTFL football 2020 coaching appointments locked in first appeared on Naracoorte Herald.