Border restriction changes for NSW, Victoria, Queensland, ACT, NT

Plan your journey as restrictions ease in some states.
Plan your journey as restrictions ease in some states.

As Australia grapples with COVID-19 restrictions on our state borders, particularly in Victoria, we tell you where you can go. Border controls for visitors can change quickly - so check before you book. Here's a state-by-state guide for travellers.


The ACT Government has closed its borders to travellers from Victoria. There are no restrictions for travellers from other states.


The border with Victoria has been temporarily shut to curtail the spread of coronavirus. There are no other restrictions on crossing the NSW border from other states, but travellers will need to comply with the rules of their home state when they return.

NSW residents can holiday anywhere in the state but are advised against travelling to NSW Health declared hotspots. Regional areas are welcoming visitors but book your accommodation in advance and call attractions to make sure they are open before travelling. Caravan parks and camp grounds are open, as are museums and galleries. Dining venues are open but the rule of one person per four square metres applies and group bookings are limited to 10 people.


Chief Minister Michael Gunner has announced that, from October 9, Greater Sydney will be removed from the NT's list of coronavirus hotspots, if the number of cases remain low. Borders will remain closed to Victorians. Currently visitors who have been in a hotspot must undergo 14 days' quarantine at a cost of $2500.


The Queensland border is currently closed to interstate travellers from Victoria, NSW and the ACT. Holidaymakers from other Australian states or territories must apply for a Border Declaration Pass prior to entry to Queensland and commit to take a COVID-19 test if they develop symptoms.

However, Queensland will lift restrictions on ACT residents at 1am on September 25.

Tourism experiences, restaurants and hotels are open as long as they apply restrictions on the number of people attending and enforce social distancing.


South Australia has reopened its borders to ACT residents this week but NSW travellers must still self-quarantine for 14 days. Visitors from Victoria are banned. Travellers from other states may enter without restrictions but all need a Cross Border Travel Registration.


Tasmania is currently closed to interstate visitors and the government has said that there will be no changes to current restrictions prior to December 1.


Travel to Victoria is not advised at this time. Stage 4 restrictions are in place across metropolitan Melbourne. In good news this week, regional Victoria moved earlier than scheduled to the third step in the state's reopening roadmap. Restaurants are open for sit-down dining and travelling for a holiday is now allowed. Face masks are compulsory throughout the state when outside home.


Borders to WA remain closed. There is no indicative date for changes to the hard border closure at this time.

While you're here... might also enjoy